JB Minton
JB Minton
[Storyteller Listening Party] "Wider" Album By JB Minton
1
0:00
-40:14

[Storyteller Listening Party] "Wider" Album By JB Minton

A Personal Tour of My 2023 8-Song Album (with liner notes and lyrics)
1
Transcript

No transcript...

This record took about 2 years to make, mostly space in between making songs. I write and perform nearly everything, and yes, I include pulling loops together and mastering them as “performing.” If you don’t, that's your opinion, and you’re entitled to it. But this is my art, not yours. I hope you enjoy listening to these songs as much as I did creating and publishing them. I hope you find them compelling and sometimes juvenile. I hope you feel the joy I put into them.

JB Minton - Sept. 2023

All Music and lyrics by JB Minton

Listen to all the songs for free but only paid subscribers beyond this line where the lyrics and artwork live amongst constructive contextual conversation. Subscribe monthly or annually below with a discount.

Get 14 day free trial

Welcome

I saw a diplomat sitting on a white-tailed horse,

swaying as he spit in the wind.

I felt a little strange as I blew off course,

dropping dead weight again.

The wise man says to the ignorant fool, 

“Seek out what you don’t understand.”

When everything dirty feels perfect and new,

then welcome to the Mind Revolution, my friend.

Welcome to the end again.

The front porch door blew away last night,

all our kisses nicked away by the wind.

But the ship stayed straight on the Captain’s course;

we’re sailing into Hell again.

The poor man says to the affluent fool,

“Give up what you’ll never command.”

When your mind and heart are aligned with your time,

then welcome to the Mind Revolution, my friend.

Welcome to the end again.

The Best Of ‘93

The old guard ain’t ready for the new
Bonging beers on the roof
and smoking blunts by the pool.
We got the barbeque lit
with the beats by Snoop.

It was last class on the last day of school.

We’re getting tight tonight.
Gonna watch the sunrise with jealous eyes.

It’s night now 
and the party’s jumping off
There’s nobody being hard
cause’ everybody’s got soft.
I got the one-hitter out
and I’m passing it around
Everybody’s getting high
listening to the sounds 
of my generation.

Generation X went through it all.
Yeah, my generation.
Even giants have to fall.

The Elvis fans are dying
but the CEOs keep on trying
to get his bad ass back out on that stage to sing
but no one stopped to ask
how many funerals 
must we have
for one king?

we stopped asking why
we had to play this game
we had to go to school
we had to make a name
we had to get that job
we had to find that spouse
we had to have them kids.
we had to buy that house.

And now some of it was good.
But not all of it was good.

Comedians in therapy,
they aren’t funny anymore.
When jokers become hitmen
and priests become thieves.

We won't take it any more.

Gardens of Furnas

Out past the cooking fields,
our dinner bakes inside the ground.
There’s a place where we can fall in love
again, just outside the town.

We were born to devastation
in the city of Furnas.
At the end of all creation,
which we were raised to watch.

And we passed away in fire together
in the gardens of Furnas.
We left the angry world forever
and watched the locusts burn to frost.

While they were shooting
for the mayor of Chicago,
We stepped through the water on stones.
Tumbling in, I caught you,
flesh of flesh, we strike our bones,
our bones against the stones.

We live in contemplation now
as spirits of Furnas.
We feed on elevation
from the pilgrims of the flocks.

Together we live forever
inside the Gardens of Furnas.
We hunt the angry living statues
and melt their frozen hearts of frost.
He woke up alone this morning with his unit on
and by the time he showered it was all gone.
Ain’t no job for praying, puts his headphones on,
sits down, and closes his eyes.

The girl next door is at it again,
scratching up her arm with a big old knife.
She’s been working toward the end since it began
and they’re both just sick of life.

They got their loneliness together into a plan
and ran to the nearest holy man.
The ring was on her finger and the singer sang
Making all the love that they can.

The old ones say
just walk away
hope and pray X2

They sent him off to battle just for something to do
and took away the love that he had.
His heart it got corrupted like it's stuck in the glue
the only thing he's left is mad.

Just before the moment when he told her goodbye,
the sky grew pregnant with rain.
A lightning bolt hit her and she fell down and died.
Everything grows through pain. X2

The Philosopher Stoner

This song is about a stoner dude that I once knew.
Maybe he was me, and maybe he was you.
He went to a party where he just didn’t belong.
And with a bunch of anxiety, he hit the bong…

Brother, watch your own stone.
Keep the lighter right by the bong.
Do this, my friend, and you will never go wrong.

The Philosopher’s curse
hurts worst than what’s first.
When the lady in the river comes
up to the water’s edge.

And you’re on that ledge.
And words do break bones,
then the fish eat stones.
Intersections of conception,
but everyone is still alone.

Your pain is our amusement.
Your hesitation is confusing.
Have you ever felt the bee sting
way, way down in your heart?

We’re coming apart,
but that’s okay.
It’s what comes back that matters
even dressed in tatters.

Regrets are an illusion.
Something we can cling on.
Captain Kirk and Papa Smurf,
we never saw your tampons.
Come and get your rampon.
we’re going hiking in the canyon.
Going down to the water,
gonna see what my daddy saw.

Gonna bust my head wide open.
And words do break bones,
then the fish eat stones.
Intersections of conception,
but everyone is still alone.

Your pain is our amusement.
Your hesitation is confusing.
Have you ever felt the bee sting
way, way down in your heart?

Coffin. I feel like I’m lying in a coffin.
No, man, I’m just coughing from the bong
I’m so goddammed stoned
I need to lay down a while.

Still I got style, forever.

Lunatics and Candlesticks

Buddy got rich off the blockchain, pilfering NFTs.

His momma used love to fuck with his brain,

the roots are rotted in his tree.

But Buddy doesn’t mind if he wastes your time,

when you do the crime, it’s free.

If 6 turns out to be 9, we’ll have a hot time in this long ass line.

If 6 turns out to be 9, we’ll have a hot time in this line.

Buddy fell in love on a Wednesday,

with a boy who used to be a girl.

He really didn’t care as long as he was there,

they felt protected from the world.

He didn’t see the crowbar coming

when they attacked him in that crowd.

He turned around and started running.

He left his partner and his vows.

But Buddy’s Mom would have understood

about running your mouth in crowds.

If 9 was really 6, then the lunatics have got all the candlesticks.

If 9 is really 6, then the lunatics have got the fix.

The Middle

*No album art has yet been created for this song.

You set fire to the edges
and I ran to the middle.
You spoke a simple sentence
and it sounded like a riddle.

Everywhere is fucked
but it's the best that we can do.
Grab this wave in time with me;
let's hold on 'til we're through.

I'm surprised to find I miss you
when you're just a text away.
There's something in the middle
that is causing us to fray.

You won't have time to speak
when the posse comes rolling up,
then takes you down the street 
to an undisclosed location
in the center of the storm.
It's incredible how fast
we all drifted from the norm.

You set fire to the edges
and I ran to the middle.
Spoke a simple sentence
and it sounded like a riddle.

Everywhere is fucked
but it's the best that we can do.
Grab this wave in time with me;
let's hold on 'til we're through.
It's the best that we can do
for one another.

A Ripple In The Sky for Ray

In my life there was no sweeter
the air not cleaner the grass not greener.
Pierce my heart with an arrow of trust,
drawn in a circle with love not lust.

Pierce Me.
Crucify Me.
I'll be your martyr.
But please remain my friend and partner.

With eyes of god, I look anew.
With heart of love I look to you.

With pains of lust, I'll hold your ground.
With hands of trust, you'll hold my crown.

With thoughts of love I think of you,
emotions strong it paints me blue.

Black water bees
translucent in the Sun.
Flying skies
Fearful eyes
Move from many to one.

I see a ripple in the sky.
I wonder whose it for?

I've gotta meet this guy.
There's a knocking at the door.
I wonder whose it for?

Should have never opened it.
I guess that I was hoping it was you.
Now what should I do?

You were so mean to her
the last time we all met.
I thought it was the last time 
we could say that we were friends.

The stranger in the parking lot
is gonna sell us all some pot.
How much money have you got?

And all the blood she bled,
we just couldn't put it back.

I see a ripple in the sky.
I wonder whose it for and where's this guy?
Where is God?

I was coming down from Space Mountain.
I was walking through Candy Land.
I was caught in a Trouble Bubble.
I was singing in Santa's band.
I was a one purse carson in the Game of Life.
I was Colonel Mustard in the study with his knife.
I was the blue and red dots on the Twister mat.
I killed your army in Risk and on their meat I got fat.

Ripple in the sky for Ray.

Where will he run to now?

THE JB MINTON NEWSLETTER

“PAY WHAT YOU CAN” Menu of Options

$3 a Month

$2 a Month

$1 a Month

$40 Annual Subscription⬇️(suggested)

Can’t afford any of these tiers? No problem. Share the JB Minton Newsletter with your network and enjoy free Premium access when they subscribe for free or paid plans.

  • 1 Referral = 1 Month of Paid Access

  • 5 Referrals = 6 Months of Paid Access

  • 10 Referrals = 1 Year of Paid Access

Use this button to get started ⬇️

Refer a friend

THANK YOU FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

1 Comment
JB Minton
JB Minton
Articles and Works In Progress By Author JB Minton